Rotate your device to portrait for an optimal viewing experience.



Each year, the Chefs’ Competition proves to be a highlight of the Show, and this year was no exception. Bringing together some of the best chefs in Greece, the Chefs’ Competition sees a group of culinary masterminds go head-to-head to win the coveted top prize.

COMPETITION ARCHIVE: 2022 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014


A Celebration of the Sea, championing the talents of Greek gastronomy at this year’s Show

This year, we gathered once again in the shining port of Nafplion to celebrate one of the standouts of the international yachting calendar: the MEDYS. Returning for its 8th edition, the MEDYS took place from the 29th of April till the 3rd of May, bringing along with it the world’s largest showcase of luxury crewed charter yachts. An action-packed week filled with yacht showings, glamorous networking events and industry insights, this year’s MEDYS was an unbridled success.

Each year, the Chefs’ Competition proves to be a highlight of the Show, and this year was no exception. Bringing together some of the best chefs in Greece, the Chefs’ Competition sees a group of culinary masterminds go head-to-head to win the coveted top prize.

This year, our chefs were tasked to create dishes that explored the theme of Zero Waste From the Greek Seas. A topical exploration of local ingredients, sustainable dining, and Greece’s greatest asset - its stunning seas - this year’s theme was a timely challenge. Delicious dishes, high-end plating and refined flavours were produced by each and every one of the participants in one of our most riveting Chefs’ Competitions to date.

This year the judging panel consisted of two stellar chefs, both awarded 2 Michelin stars. Chef George Papazacharias of Delta Restaurant in Athens, the only two Michelin stars restaurant in the country and Chef Antonio Mellino of Quattro Passi Restaurant in Nerano, Italy, also awarded 2 Michelin stars, were joined by brokers Angela Zurlo and Bobby Biggio as the judging committee of the competition. With each dish presented being better than the last, the judges themselves were put to the incredibly difficult challenge of deciding this year’s winner of the Chefs’ Competition.

Category A Winners

Each chef was a true standout in this year’s Category A competition. From bold and unexpected pairings to classic and elegant dishes, the Zero Waste theme was expertly executed. Every dish was a celebration of Greek seafood, inspired by a food philosophy that harnesses every part of the produce.

We're proud to announce this year's winner was Emmanouil Perros of the M/Y Zen. Our top chef's dish was both refined and modern, one that truly captured the spirit of zero-waste, creative dining. Evangelos Vasileiou from M/Y Tropicana secured the second place, while Victoria Shcherbakova from M/Y Wide Liberty took home the third place. In the A category, the award for best tablescaping was awarded to Nikoleta Patara of M/Y Wide Liberty for her stunning decorations.

Category A Platinum Winners

Judging for the A Platinum category proved to be a huge challenge this year. Each chef presented dishes that found the perfect balance between delicious flavours and conscious sourcing - a perfect example of the future of cooking.

After much deliberation, our judges decided to award Tatiana Kostantidi of M/Y Hakuna Matata the top prize. Tatiana's winning dish was the stand-out of the entire competition, one that perfectly embodied the bold and exciting future of Greek cuisine - one that is increasingly returning to local ingredients, fresh flavors, and sustainable dining. Dionysios Lykiardopoulos from M/Y O'ptasia secured the second place, while Dimitris Paidis from M/Y Jo I was the third place finalist. In addition, the prize for the best tablescaping was awarded to Nicole Petrou of M/Y Sole Di Mare for her elegant arrangements.

The Awards Ceremony

After three days of incredible culinary displays, all chefs, judges and attendees gathered at the Valaora Restaurant in Nafplion for the final awards ceremony. A chance to come together, connect and celebrate all the creativity displayed throughout the competition, this year’s ceremony was a proud and prestigious affair.

The awards were presented by Angela Zurlo and Bobby Biggio, alongside fellow MEDYS attendees. We’d like to extend our thanks to both Valaora Restaurant and Domaine Skouras, the sponsors of this year’s Chefs’ Competition, as well as every chef that came and shared their talents with the MEDYS.

We already can’t wait till next year’s Chefs’ Competition, when we once again return to the Port of Nafplion for what will be the 9th edition of the MEDYS. We’ll see you there.

Competition Awards

2023 Competition was sponsored by:


Subscribe to our newsletter

Gain access to a wealth of knowledge and inspiration. Become part of our community and set off on a journey of exploration!

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from Greek Yachting Association:

You can opt-out at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of our emails. For details about our privacy policies, please refer to our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices.



About Nafplion How to get there Hotels & Lodging
© 2023 Greek Yachting Association - All Rights Reserved